Weld Procedure Specification (WPS) - LMATS

LMATS are members of Weld Australia (WTIA), are an approved testing center for the Australian Welder Certification Register (AWCR).
LMATS  are capable of testing welders to all standards, ASME IX, AWS, AS/ NZS, ISO, API, BS and write/review PQR/WPS should clients require these services as we are a Fully Independent third party.

A Welding Procedure Specification (WPS), is an official tracable formaly written document that describes standard welding procedures. this Welding Procedure Specification provide clear directions for welders to make consistant and repeatable quality products that are up to code.

The  LMATS  Weld Procedure Specification and Welder Qualification Test staff are highly qualified with "Certificate 10" and “International Welding Engineer”
Welder testing done on premises providing results within 24hrs of welder completing test coupon, no need to send coupons to third party.
The  LMATS  process of preparing a Welder Qualification

weld qualification process chart

A Welding Procedure Specification (WPS) is a document which details every essential and non-essential variables in the welding process involved to weld a particular type of joint. 
A welding procedure contains details of:
  • material type
  • form and shape
  • welding process
  • consumables
  • joint design and preparation
  • welding current and voltage
  • polarity
  • preheat and postheat temperature
  • travel speed, etc.

therby ensuring the welded component meets design requirements

Examples of Welding Procedure Specifications (WPS)  are:

  • Pipe welding specifications
  • AWS welding specifications
  • Submerged Arc welding specification
  • TIG welding specification
  • MIG welding specification
  • Standard welding procedure specifications
LMATS  can help you with the creation and review of a Weld Procedure Specification (WPS) and Welder Qualification Test Record (WPQR)
LMATS  are an industry leader in Welding Procedure Specification (WPS) and one of a few that are certified to confirm a Welder Qualification Test Record (WPQR) testing of coupons in house.

There are more than 30 different types of welding processes, that range from simple oxy-fuel to extremely high-tech processes such as laser beam welding. Only four welding types are commonly used, and they are MIG, TIG, Stick and Flux- Cored arc welding.

  • MIG - Gas Metal Arc Welding (GMAW) Welding Procedure Specification
  • TIG - Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (GTAW) Welding Procedure Specification
  • Stick - Shielded Metal Arc Welding (SMAW) Welding Procedure Specification
  • Flux-Cored Arc Welding (FCAW) Welding Procedure Specification
  • Energy Beam Welding (EBW) Welding Procedure Specification
  • Atomic Hydrogen Welding (AHW) Welding Procedure Specification
  • Plasma Arc Welding Welding Procedure Specification
  • Exothermic welding (Thermit Welding) Welding Procedure Specification

LMATS comprises a team of Metallurgist, Engineers, Welding Engineers and technologist, Welding Supervisors and Inspectors, Scientist, Engineering Technologist and Non-destructive testing Technologist. The combination of these professionals from different speciality ensures that the welding task is completed efficiently and within shortest duration.
LMATS assist their clients in preparation and development of Welding Procedure Specification (WPS).

Simply request LMATS ’ supportive staff and they will assist you to complete your task in time.

Want to know more about  LMATS  Welding Procedure Specification (WPS) and how it can assist you simply call is or contact us through our form